Team collaboration in Gearset

Collaborate with your colleagues for smoother DevOps

Jason Mann avatar
Written by Jason Mann
Updated over a week ago

Gearset's team features are designed to make collaboration between developers, admins, and release managers ingeniously simple.

How teams work in Gearset

Teams are the basis of collaboration in Gearset. Users within a team can see each other's activity, such as deployments and automation jobs, to enable seamless knowledge sharing.

Users can also share access to Salesforce orgs they have authorized within a team, and set access permissions for their teammates.

Team owners can manage license assignment and team admin, such as inviting new team members and setting overall team permissions.

From 27th of March 2024 team owners can also manage user permissions for team-shared resources, such as permissions for:
- team-shared Salesforce org connections
- team-shared CI jobs
- team-shared Pipelines

You can read more about this feature in a dedicated support article:
โ€‹User permissions for team-shared orgs, CI jobs and Pipelines

Shared team activity

Deployment-related activity/history in Gearset is automatically visible to other members of your team, including:

All team members will be able to view the high-level information. Depending on your team setup and any delegated org credentials, they may also be able to carry out actions on some of these items, such as deploying a validated package.

Shared automation jobs

Gearset's Automation Platform License is required for your team to access automation features, such as creating jobs to monitor orgs for metadata changes, unit testing automation, and continuous integration (CI).

Automation jobs are also shared within teams. Any team member can view the current status and history for the following jobs created by their teammates:

Custom notification settings can also be set for these jobs to notify multiple members of your team when they run. For example, if a change monitoring job detects changes to your production org, multiple team members can be alerted and access the details to understand exactly what has changed.

Did this answer your question?