On larger teams, with members potentially joining and leaving on a regular basis, it can sometimes cause administrative overhead to maintain Pipelines if they are set up by individual team members. In this case, team owners can instead create pipelines that are owned by the team rather than an individual. This feature is available for all customers using Deployment Teams and Automation Teams licenses or above.
Adding a new team-shared pipeline
To create a team-shared pipeline, select the plus from the pipelines menu and select
Add new team shared pipeline
Follow these steps to fully set up your pipeline.
When you create a team shared pipeline, the connection is owned not by you but by the team. This means that it will continue to be available to all team members even if you leave the team in the future.
You can always tell if a pipeline is user owned or team-shared by looking in the list of pipelines.
All team-shared pipelines will appear under the heading
Team shared Pipelines can be edited and managed by any team owner. Team members cannot edit or manage the pipeline, but can run them according to the same rules as user shared pipelines - in other words, based on their permissions to the source and target connections.
Using team shared connections
When a shared connection is first created, it can only be used by team owners. However, for compare and deploy, access to the connection can be granted to team members as with any other org connection - see Sharing org credentials with team members.