Note: Initially, shared connections will only be available for use in Compare and Deploy. Support for pipelines, backup and other features will be introduced shortly.
On larger teams, with members potentially joining and leaving on a regular basis, it can sometimes become onerous to maintain Salesforce org connections if they are set up by individual team members. In this case, team owners can instead create connections that are owned by the team rather than an individual and then share these connections with selected members. This feature is available for all customers on the Enterprise tier of the app.
Adding a team-owned shared connection
When a team owner creates a Salesforce org connection, they can elect to create a team-owned shared connection:
When you create a connection with this option selected, the connection is not owned by you but by the team, though as a team owner you still have full access to it. This means that it will continue to be available to all team members even if you leave the team in the future.
Using team-owned shared connections
When a shared connection is first created, it can only be used by team owners. However, access to the connection can be granted to team members as with any other org connection - see Sharing org credentials with team members.