This article explains what team owners are and how they can manage teams in Gearset.
In Gearset teams, there are two roles: owner and member.
Team members can use the app based whether there is a license that's been assigned to them and what kind of license the team has. Owners have additional abilities to manage many aspects of the team:
Adding and removing team members
Setting team members' roles
Assigning licenses to team members
Enforcing deployment notes
Enabling data deployments for the team
Managing automation jobs in the team (if it applies to your team)
Viewing past invoices for any subscriptions assigned to the team
Naming the team
Edit settings that affect the whole team
Adding new data backup jobs
Edit sharing settings on a backup job
Start and receive a transfer of ownership of a backup job
Create new team-shared CI jobs
Convert a user owned CI job to a team shared CI job
Managing settings on team-shared CI jobs
Add team-shared VCS/Salesforce connections
Delegate team-shared Salesforce connections with team members
Creating team-shared pipelines
Converting a user owned pipeline to a team-shared pipeline
Managing settings on a team-shared pipeline
Every team has at least one owner. Team owners do not need a license to manage the team. Teams can have any number of members.
Adding a team member
A team owner can invite new users to join their team in two ways: by email or by Salesforce username.
In Gearset, navigate to the My account page, and make sure
Team managementis selected on the left.
To invite a new team member, either enter their email address, or (if applicable) the Salesforce username they use to log into Gearset.
Click the respective
Invitebutton to send the invite. The user will receive an email inviting them to join your team. If they don't already have a Gearset account, they can create one. Once finished, the user will be added to the team.
Any outstanding invites will be shown on the My account
Team managementpage. Invites that have not been accepted will expire in five days. You can also copy the direct invite link from here if there are any issues with the email invite.
Once the user accepts the invitation, they will be added to the team and listed in the team table.
Note: Gearset users can only be a member of one team at a time. If you belong to a team and accept an invite to join a new team, you will leave the original team. Any deployment history you have will remain accessible from the old team only - it will not be transferred to your new team.
Changing a user's role
A team owner can manage the roles of anyone else in their team.
To change a team member's role, select
Change role...from the My account
In the dialogue box that appears, select
Memberas required, and click
That user's role will then be updated in the app and will be displayed in the team details table.
Removing a team member
A team owner can remove a team member from a team. Removing them from the team immediately revokes their access to the shared history in the team and removes any shared credentials they have set.
To remove a team member from the team, click
Remove team member...from the My account team management page.
Note: After being removed from a team, a user's comparison and deployment history will still be available to the remaining members of the team.
Assigning licenses to a team member
Team owners, and only team owners, can manage the license assignment for their team.
To assign or unassign a license from a team member, an owner can add/remove a license from the drop-down menu in the team table.
*(Screenshot contains legacy pricing/packing information and will be updated as soon as possible)
Enforcing deployment notes
Team owners can control whether all other team members must enter deployment notes before any metadata deployment is run (or a deployment is validated).
To require deployment notes, set the slider in the My account
Deployment settings page to
Team members will now be required to enter a deployment note before the app allows them to run any metadata deployments (or validate the deployment).
Managing automation jobs in the team
Team owners can edit and delete any automation job created by another member of their team. This allows them to:
Deactivate or delete jobs created by users no longer in the team.
Edit job settings on behalf of a team member.
Remove items from the deployment history in the team.
To deactivate or activate any automation job from running on its scheduled basis, set the slider for that job to
Enabled as required.
To edit an automation job, click
Edit job settings... or
Edit job... (depending on the type of automation job) for that job, and make the desired changes.
To delete an automation job, click
Delete job... and confirm the deletion. This will remove the job and its history. Note: This can't be undone.
Naming the team
Team owners can give a team a custom name. The team name is used on the email invites sent out when inviting a user to join a team, and displayed in the footer in the app.
To change the name of a team, on the My account
Team management page, click the pencil icon next to the team name, and enter a new one.