All Collections
Team management
Team collaboration
Team collaboration
User permissions for team-shared orgs, CI jobs and pipelines
User permissions for team-shared orgs, CI jobs and pipelines

Setting user permissions on team-shared resources

Mark Allan avatar
Written by Mark Allan
Updated this week

For teams using team-shared resources, granular control over what access each user has to each resource is a useful facility. We have introduced the ability to control access to team-shared orgs and CI jobs and will be expanding this to other resources. This feature is currently available for all customers using Deployment Teams and Automation Teams licenses or above.

Important things to know

  • Existing team-shared CI jobs retain their existing permissions, but permissions are now updated through the new Team Management console (see below).

  • Any new team-shared CI jobs that are created by teams with access to this feature will by default have no access granted to any team members other than owners.

  • Assigned team-shared CI job permissions are no longer dependent on permissions on the associated Salesforce org.
    โ€‹

  • User-owned resources are unaffected.

CI job permission levels

Levels of access for CI jobs are:

  • Edit - This allows users to edit the CI job, allowing users to edit the metadata filters etc. As well as run the job.

  • Run - This allows users to run the CI job. If the CI job is in a pipeline, this setting would allow users to promote the PR within the pipeline.

  • None - This setting means that users cannot run the CI job or edit the job settings.

Note: By assigning Run access to a CI job for a team member, you're essentially giving that member a permission to run the job and deploy - that is regardless of org access permissions settings in Delegate org access section.
โ€‹
FYI: You can read more about the org access permission in this article: Sharing org credentials with team members

Setting permissions

As a team owner, you can change permissions by:


Changing a user's permissions

In the My account menu, select Team management -> People -> Users (or directly through this link; similarly you can open this link to access My Profile tab).

This will present a list of all the users in your team:

Selecting a team member on this screen will display the team-shared orgs and CI jobs that they currently have access to:

Setting team-shared org permissions

Selecting Edit access to team shared orgs will bring you to the org permission screen.

In the Current Team shared Orgs tab you can change permissions to orgs that the user already has access to:

In the Delegate access to other Orgs tab you can grant permissions to orgs that the user currently has no access to. To grant a permission across many orgs at once, there is a bulk assign feature as well:

Setting team-shared CI job permissions

Selecting Edit access to pipelines & CI jobs will bring you to the CI job permission screen. Here you can set a user's permission level to Edit, Run or None for each job.

In the Current pipelines & CI jobs tab you can change permissions to CI jobs that the user already has access to. These are grouped into jobs that are part of a pipeline and those that are standalone:

In the Delegate access to other pipelines & CI jobs tab you can grant permissions to CI jobs that the user currently has no access to. To grant a permission across many CI jobs at once, there is a bulk assign feature as well:


Setting user permissions on a team-shared org

To set user permissions on a specific org, in the My account menu, select Team management -> Permissions -> Orgs (or directly through this link).

Selecting any org in the list will bring you to the permission screen of the org, which also lists CI jobs connected to the org.

The users table lists the users who have access to the org along with their access levels. You can add or remove users and change their permissions for the org by selecting Edit users & access for this org:


Setting user permissions on a CI job

To set user permissions on a specific CI job, in the My account menu, select Team management -> Permissions -> Pipelines & continuous integration (CI) (or directly through this link).

This page lists team-shared pipelines, and also any CI jobs that are not connected to a pipeline.

Selecting any pipeline in the list will bring you to the permission screen of the pipeline.

This page shows user pipeline permissions (read-only) and the CI jobs connected to this pipeline.

You can expand any CI job in the list to see users' permissions on the job. Add or remove users and change their permissions for the org by selecting Edit users & access for this CI job:

Did this answer your question?