You can delete individual records from a data backup job to ensure that they're no longer being stored by Gearset. This not only helps you meet legal obligations (for example under GDPR compliance) but may also be required as part of your contractual obligations with your customers.
Find the record ID
The first step is to find the Salesforce ID for the record you want to delete.
If the record still exists in your org
Navigate to the record in the Salesforce UI
In the URL in your browser, look for the string of numbers and letters that represents the ID
In the example lead below, the URL is
https://eu14.lightning.force.com/lightning/r/Lead/00Q24000004NMfDEAW/viewThe record ID is
Make a note of the ID
If the record no longer exists in your org
You should be able to get the ID at least from one of the backup job runs. Select to
View records for the run that includes the record being deleted from the org and look for that specific record (you can use the filters to narrow it down). Once you find the record, you can make a note of the ID.
Delete the record
Once you know the ID of the record you wish to delete you can delete it from the data backup job dashboard.
EDIT JOB...in the data backup job you wish to delete the record from
Remove records from backup history...
Paste in the record ID
Enter the reason for deletion
Enter the confirmation text
The record will be removed from this backup job's history. It may take a few minutes for this change to be reflected through the job's data browser
Any deleted records will be listed in the
Audit history tab in the backup job with details about which Gearset user made the request and when, as well as when it was processed.
Ensure the record is also removed from your orgs
Deleting a record from a job's history in Gearset does not prevent it from being re-downloaded in the future, and does not remove it from Salesforce. You should ensure the record is also deleted from the source Salesforce org as well as Gearset's backup jobs.
If the record still exists in the source org, the next time the backup job runs the record will be re-captured in the job. If this happens, you can repeat the steps above to delete the record again.
Deleted records can't be restored
Deleting a record from a data backup job is irreversible. Once it has been deleted, it is removed from our systems and Gearset will be unable to restore it.