Creating a backup job is a team owner feature, if you are not a team owner you will see this:
and we will need to ask your team owner to allow you become a team owner to create a job.
Data backup dashboard
On this dashboard you have an overview of the data backup jobs that you have set up. Only your account has the visibility of the jobs you set up. Each job represents a single org that is being backed up.
Add a new data backup job
You can add a new org to back up via the
ADD NEW JOB... button. This will, every day, take a backup of the records in your org.
You can only back up orgs that you own the connections for and not those that have been delegated to you.
You can configure the API usage limit, after which Gearset will stop trying to back up your data records to allow non-backup jobs to use your API call.
You set the time of day when the backup is run, and there is an option to run an initial backup job immediately regardless of when the jobs are set to run.
You can also set a retention policy for how long you want to keep the backup records.
There are notification settings you can configure in the
Notification settings tab - for example you can set up a daily email or post to Slack on the job's status.
Smart alerts tab allows you to trigger notifications based on more advanced rules. For example, if you want to get alerted when more than 5% of your contacts change or are deleted.
You can choose which objects in your org you wish to backup or exclude from the job in the
Filtering tab. In the
Objects to back up tab a warning will be displayed if your Salesforce profile doesn't have the Modify All Data permission enabled. You can still back up your organization without this permission, but be aware that without it there may be objects in your organization that you are not able to include in a backup and/or restore. In the
Unsupported objects tab we list the objects that will not be included in your backup. A object may be unsupported by the Salesforce API or may be something Gearset has yet to implement support for.
Permissions tab allows you to assign View, Browse, Execute, Edit, and Delete permissions to individual members of your team
Reviewing a data backup job
Once the job is set up, if you did not select the option to run the job after creation, it will show a pending status. Once it hits the scheduled run time, it will begin the first snapshot.
When the job is running, you'll see the status change to blue. The time that the run takes will vary depending on your org record size.
When the run is completed, it will change to green. You can view the history and statistics of the job by clicking
View details. Jobs can also be run on demand by clicking
Back up now.
If there are any issues running the job, you'll see more information about what went wrong.
Data backup job history
The job’s history page will tell you the details of each run, along with a visual representation of the changes to your records over time.
Clicking on a job run row will expand it and show a few options:
Replicate metadata and datawill let deploy the back up to another target org.
Compare and restore metadatalets you restore this orgs metadata to this org. See how this works in our support article here.
Configure data restorelets you restore this orgs data. See how this works in our support article here.
Clicking the three dots will also give you the option of downloading the full org data or metadata from this snapshot as a CSV file export.
View detailslets you drill down into the changes across each object for this run. You can select individual objects and see a list of all the records which changed, and perform a quick record restore if you wish.
Switching to the
Object analysis tab will show the record changes by object for the chosen timeframe.
Selecting an object at the top will display how the records in that object have changed during each backup job run. To view more details on a specific run, click the run time link.