Skip to main content

What happens when you delete an Archive

Deleting an archive is permanent. Gearset cannot restore an archive or its archived records.

Written by Vincent Maltby

Deleting an archive is permanent. For security, Gearset cannot restore an archive or its archived records after you delete it, so read this before you delete anything.

Who can delete an archive?

The person who created the archive has full access to it. Team owners are given View and Delete permissions by default. You can change who holds Delete permission on the Permissions tab of the archive settings. See How to set archiving permissions.

How do I delete an archive?

  1. On the Archiving dashboard, click View policies for the archive.

  2. Click Archive settings.

  3. Click the delete button at the bottom left. It is available from every tab.

  4. Confirm the deletion. Make sure to read this screen very carefully, as once the archive is deleted it CANNOT be restored.

What should I do before I delete an archive?

Did this answer your question?