With Gearset, you can easily roll back any deployment made through the app in a few clicks, with support for both full and partial rollback.

How rollback works in Gearset

Gearset's rollback works thanks to our automatic org snapshots. Whenever you run a deployment in Gearset, the snapshot of your target org is automatically saved just prior to deployment.

That means if you ever need to roll back changes, Gearset will run a comparison between the stored snapshot and the org's now live state. This will highlight what changes have been made since the snapshot, and let you selectively rollback any of the changes. Rollbacks take advantage of Gearset's unique dependency analysis to identify and include any required dependencies for the rollback to succeed. 

There's no limit to how far back you can go to perform a rollback, with the caveat that if you try to rollback a deployment from some time ago, you may see a large number of detected changes between the snapshot and the org's live state.

Rollbacks can also be performed for source control in exactly the same way.

How to roll back a deployment with Gearset

  • Click on the deployment you want to roll back from your Deployment history, and then click Roll back....
  • Gearset will run a comparison between a snapshot of the environment and its current state. From here, you can choose exactly which changes to roll back.
  • Items will be pre-selected for the rollback, but you can customize the selection. In this case, a custom field was accidentally added as part of the original deployment, which I now want to delete, so I ensure just that box is selected.
  • After selecting the objects to roll back, click NEXT to be taken to the pre-deployment summary. Click DEPLOY NOW to complete the rollback process, or VALIDATE DEPLOYMENT and deploy afterwards.
  • After successfully rolling back your changes, your deployment will be stored in your deployment history, tagged as a rollback. From here, you can view the usual PDF deployment report, download the package and even roll back the rollback if you wish!
Did this answer your question?