If you have finished your usage of Gearset and would like to remove the metadata, data and account login, this guide will help you achieve that. We are sorry to see you go, if there's anything you think Gearset can do to change your mind - please do let us know via the in-app chat!

Deleting the data backup master key

To delete your team's data records stored in Gearset, you can go to the data management page of the app and scroll to the bottom section, where you will find the button to remove the backup master key.

You will want to execute the deletion of the data backup master key before you deactivate the account.

Deactivating the account and metadata

To deactivate your Gearset account, you can go to the account summary page of the app and scroll to the bottom section, where you will find the account deactivation button. You cannot deactivate your account with a license assigned to your user; it must be removed first. Please contact us to cancel any subscriptions before deactivating your account.

If you proceed, you will never be able to use the same email authentication method to create another Gearset account, and the account cannot be re-enabled by any means.

N.B: A Gearset account created with email [email protected] on Salesforce authentication is distinct from a Gearest account created with email [email protected] with Google authentication.

The results of the action will depend on whether your user is the last remaining owner of the current team, or the team will still have an owner after you deactivate. If you want to delete an entire team with multiple members, please have each member deactivate their account individually, and then the owner last.

In all cases, the deactivation process will remove your user's:

  • Saved and delegated Salesforce org connections

  • Preferences and settings

  • Third-party tool connection information (e.g. GitHub, BitBucket, etc.)

  • Ownership of automated jobs (if your team wishes to continue using them, please transfer ownership to another member of the team first)

In addition, if you're the last remaining owner of the team, that team will also be deactivated, removing the entire team's:

  • Scheduled deployments and metadata snapshots

  • All test monitoring, change monitoring, continuous integration, and data backup jobs and their notification settings

Did this answer your question?