When using Gearset, you might see a red banner at the top of the page informing you that "You need to update your Bitbucket connection". This article explains what you need to do if you see this banner.

What do I need to do?

This change only affects users with a Bitbucket Cloud connection. If you’re using Bitbucket Server, you don’t need to do anything.

Once this has been done, the banner will disappear. Detailed information on managing source control connections can be found here.

Why is this necessary?

When we first added support for Bitbucket Cloud, Gearset used version 1 of the Bitbucket Cloud API. This has now been officially deprecated, so we’ve moved over to version 2.

Because of a slight difference in the way permissions work between the two versions of the API, it’s necessary for you to delete and re-add your connection to Bitbucket. Don’t worry though, any CI jobs that you have previously set up will keep working once you’ve added your new connection, so there’s no need to delete those!

Is there a deadline?

Although the version 1 API has been deprecated, it will still be in place until 31st December 2018. At that point, it will be removed permanently. This means that Gearset will need to remove support for version 1 of the API before that date. 

The official deadline for users to revalidate their Bitbucket connections is 1st December 2018. Sometime between this date and the 31st, we will remove any Bitbucket Cloud connections in Gearset which are still associated with the version 1 API. CI jobs will not be affected by this change.

Did this answer your question?