Gearset's shared org credentials allow other members of your team to view or deploy changes to one of your orgs without having access to your login details.

You can control what level of access they have to the org, and change or revoke access at any point.

Shared credentials are an Enterprise feature.

Benefits of shared credentials

Sharing credentials allows teams to set up more complex workflows for their deployments and create approval gating.

For example, a release manager who has access to production could delegate this access to their team so they can approve any change before it is deployed:

  • Each developer is given validation level access to production. This allows them to run a comparison from their dev org to production, select changes they want to deploy, and create a validated package to check it builds successfully and all tests pass.
  • The release manager can then review the changes from the validated packages history, and when happy, deploy the changes out to production.
  • Developers can't deploy directly to production, ensuring correct review before any change is released

Setting up shared credentials

Navigate to the user access page via the account management page or the side menu. 

From the assignment options, choose the Salesforce org(s) that you want to share and one of the four permission levels available.

The four levels of permission are:

  1. None: the connection to this Salesforce org will not be shared with this team member. This is the default when a new team member or org is added.
  2. Comparison: the team member can use this org for comparisons only. They cannot deploy changes.
  3. Validation: the team member can use this org for comparisons and create validated deployment packages. They cannot deploy changes.
  4. Deployment: a team member has full comparison and deployment access to this org.

Below you can see that two team members have been given access to the [email protected] sandbox org, one of whom has validation access and the other has full deployment access.

Once you have shared an org with a team member, it will appear in their list of authorized orgs on the Compare & Deploy tab, and the Manage Salesforce orgs tab. If they have the required permissions, they will be able to run comparisons, build validated deployment packages, or deploy changes as if they had authorized the account themselves.

Note: if a user deploys changes to an org using a delegated account, the deployment will appear in Salesforce as if it was run by the original user who shared their credentials.

Shared credentials are revoked if a member leaves the team

If a team member leaves a team, any shared org credentials are immediately revoked for all other remaining team members.

Did this answer your question?