If you are the owner of a continuous integration (CI) job, you are now able to transfer the job to another teammate. The transfer consists of two steps:
- Step 1 - The job owner initiates the transfer to another team member
- Step 2 - The team member accepts and completes the transfer
Step 1 - Initiating the transfer
Navigate to the continuous integration page and select a job that you own. If you expand the settings, you will see the
Transfer Ownership link*:
* If you do not see a link, please see the FAQ section of this document and check 'Why can't I see the transfer ownership link'.
You will then be able to select one of your teammates and send the transfer request:
Note: We would advise that your teammate has access to both the source and target locations to ensure that the transfer is like-for-like.
You will be prompted with a confirmation dialog box. Once this has been confirmed, the selected teammate will receive an email containing a link to complete the transfer. You can also manually send them the generated link:
Note: The job will continue to belong to you and run as normal until the teammate you have sent the transfer to accepts the request, or until you cancel the transfer (in which case we will let your teammate know that the transfer has been cancelled).
Step 2 - Accept the transfer
Once the transfer request has been sent, your teammate will receive an email with a link which will take them to the following page:
The teammate should have access to the source and target locations, so they are able to match the connections like-for-like:
Once the teammate has mapped the connections, they can choose to enable the job by selecting the checkbox:
The teammate will then see a confirmation dialog box from which they can review the settings. Once confirmed, the teammate will be presented with a confirmation message to let them know that the transfer has been successful.
The continue button will redirect the user to the continuous integration page.
Why can't I see the transfer ownership link?
You will see the link if:
- You are the owner of the CI job or another teammate is transferring the job to you
- And the CI job is a deployment job (validation is not supported)
- And there is at least one other teammate
If the conditions above are met, you will see the link.
Can I cancel a transfer?
You may cancel a transfer up until the transfer is complete. You are the owner of the job until the teammate completes the transfer, and it will continue to function as normal. Once the teammate completes the transfer, you will no longer be the owner of the job and will therefore no longer be able to cancel the transfer.
How will my history look once the transfer has completed?
The full history will be maintained, but we currently do not display any information on when the transfer took place.
If the job owner is not around, is there another way to transfer the job?
Currently there is no other way to transfer the job - only the job owner can do that. However, any team owner can deactivate a job. Our current suggestion is to duplicate the job, and deactivate the original one if needed. We are exploring the possibility of also enabling team owner(s) to transfer jobs.