When using Gearset, you might see a red banner at the top of the page informing you that "You need to update your Bitbucket connection". This article explains what you need to do if you see this banner.

What do I need to do?

This change only affects users with a Bitbucket Cloud connection. If you’re using Bitbucket Server, you don’t need to do anything.

Once this has been done, the banner will disappear. Detailed information on managing source control connections can be found here.

Why is this necessary?

If you're using GitHub as your source control provider, you can create a Pull Request (PR) from within Gearset. You can now do the same with Bitbucket Cloud! To do this we needed to update Gearset's Bitbucket OAuth consumer with a new set of permissions. 

Because of a slight difference in permissions it’s necessary for you to delete and re-add your connection to Bitbucket. Don’t worry though, any CI jobs that you have previously set up will keep working once you’ve added your new connection, so there’s no need to delete those!

Is there a deadline?

There's no deadline, your existing connection will continue to work, but if you want to take advantage of the feature switch over as soon as you can! 

Did this answer your question?