This article explains what team owners are and how they can manage teams in Gearset.
In Gearset teams, there are two roles: owner, and member.
Team members can use the app based on the license that's been assigned to them. Owners have additional abilities to manage many aspects of the team:
- Adding and removing team members
- Setting team members roles
- Assigning licenses to team members
- Enforcing deployment notes
- Enabling data deployments for the team
- Managing automation jobs in the team
- Viewing past invoices for any subscriptions assigned to the team
- Naming the team
Every team has at least one owner. Teams can have any number of members.
Adding a team member
A team owner can invite new users to join their team in two ways: by Salesforce user name, or by email.
- To invite a new team member, enter their username for the account they use to log into Gearset into the Invite team member box in the account management page, or enter their email address
- Click "Invite team member" to send the invite. The user will receive an email inviting them to join your team. If they don't already have a Gearset account, they can create one and once finished, the user will be added to the team
- Any outstanding invites will be shown on the account page. Invites that have not been accepted will expire in five days. You can also copy the direct invite link from here if there are any issues with the email invite
- Once the user accepts the invite, they will be added to the team and listed in the team table
Changing a user's role
A team owner can manage the roles of anyone else in their team.
- To change a team member's role, select "Change role..." from the account management page
- In the dialogue box that appears, select "Owner" or "Member" as required, and click save
- That user's role will then be updated in the app and will be displayed in the team details table
Removing a team member
A team owner can remove a team member from a team. Removing them from the team immediately revokes their access to the shared history in the team and removes any shared credentials they have set.
- To remove a team member from the team, click "Remove team member..." from the account management page
- To confirm the change, click "Remove user"
- The team member will then be removed from the team.
Note: After being removed from a team, a user's comparison and deployment history will still be available to the remaining members of the team.
Assigning licenses to a team member
Team owners can manage the license assignment for their team.
To assign or un-assign a license from a team member, the owner can select the license type from the dropdown in the team table:
- None: user has no license assigned. If the team has time remaining on their evaluation period, the user will be placed onto a trial account. If the trial has finished, the user will be placed onto the free tier of Gearset
- Pro: assigns the user a Pro license
- Enterprise: assigns the user an Enterprise license
Note: if you remove the license from a user who has an active change monitoring or CI job, the job will become inactive. No further runs of the job will occur until the user's license is re-activated. History for the job will still be accessible to the team and the user. If the user is re-assigned a license, the job will reactivate
Enforcing deployment notes
Team owners can control whether all other team members must enter deployment notes before any deployment is run.
To require deployment notes, set the slider in the manage team section to "Enabled". Team members will now be required to enter a deployment note before the app allows them to run any deployments.
Enabling data deployments for the team
Team owners can control whether Gearset's data loader is enabled for the team.
By default, the data loader is disabled for teams. A team owner must enable the data loader before it can be used by any team member. The data loader can only be enabled when a data license has been purchased, or if there is an active trial of Gearset.
To enable data deployments, set the slider in the account page to "Enabled".
By default, deployments to production orgs are disabled in the data loader. A team owner can enable data deployments to production orgs by setting the second slider to "Enabled".
Note: Enabling data deployments for your team to production orgs could lead to the loss of critical business data. There is no deployment roll back should a data deployment fail and Gearset will be unable to recover any of your data as it's not saved on our servers. You'll be asked for confirmation before each deployment to a production org.
You can learn more about Gearset's data loader here.
Managing automation jobs in the team
Team owners can edit and delete any automation job created by another member of their team. This allows them to:
- Deactivate or delete jobs created by users no longer in the team
- Edit job settings on behalf of a team member
- Remove items from the deployment history in the team
To deactivate or activate any automation job from running on its scheduled basis, set the slider for that job to Disabled or Enabled as required.
To edit an automation job, click Edit job settings for that job, and make the desired changes.
To delete an automation job, click the bin icon and confirm the deletion. This will remove the job and its history. Note: this can't be undone.
Viewing past invoices
Team owners can view subscriptions assigned to the team. If the team has an active subscription, it will appear at the top of the account page under the Subscriptions section.
To view any recent invoices for a subscription, click "Show recent invoices...". You can then click on any invoice link to see the PDF.
Naming the team
Team owners can give a team a custom name. The team name is used on the email invites sent out when inviting a user to join a team, and displayed in the footer in the app.
To change the name of a team, click the pencil icon next to the team name, and enter a new one.